MIT CSAIL

6.882 Embodied Intelligence

Spring 2019

[Home | Schedule | Resources | Piazza | Stellar ]

This schedule is preliminary and subject to change as the term evolves.

Date Topics Course Materials Assignments
Week 1: Cognitive architectures and paradigms
Tues 2/5/2019 Domains, agent architecture, factory/wild Russell & Norvig slides
Thurs 2/7/2019 Classic papers Assigned readings:
Shakey (video)(Technical Report)
Brooks: Elephants Don't Play Chess
Sims: Evolved Virtual Creatures (video)
Sutton: Dyna
Assignment #1
Week 2: The problem of long-term decision making
Tues 2/12/2019 Deterministic domains: pddl planning, IW(k), power of heuristics, factoring Assigned readings:
Bonet & Geffener: HSP
Lipovetsky & Geffner: IW(k)
Bandres, Bonet & Geffner: Planning with Pixels
Assignment #2
Thurs 2/14/2019 Future-state uncertainty: value iteration, mcts, MPC / replanning Assigned readings:
Kocsis & Szepesvari: Bandit-based Monte-Carlo Planning
Yoon, Fern & Givan: FF-Replan: A Baseline for Probabilistic Planning
Riedmiller: Neural Fitted Q Iteration
Assignment #3
Week 3: The problem of continuous action spaces
Thurs 2/21/2019 Motion planning, optimization Assigned readings:
Kuffner & LaValle: RRT-Connect (animations)
Garrett et al.: Factored Transition Systems (video and journal version)
Mordatch et al.: Contact-Invariant Optimization (video and video)
Assignment #4
Week 4: The problem of situation awareness
Tues 2/26/2019 Perception as state estimation Assigned readings:
MaskRCNN
Learning to See Physics via Visual De-animation
The feeling of success
Assignment #5
Thurs 2/28/2019 Sensory representation learning Assigned readings:
Large Scale Unsupervised Learning (cat face paper)
Learning image representations tied to ego-motion
Contrastive predictive coding
Assignment #6
Week 5: The problem of partial observability
Tues 3/5/2019 POMDPs: search and policies Assigned readings:
POMDP Tutorial
Despot: Online POMDP Planning
Belief-space Planning
Assignment #7
Thurs 3/7/2019 POMDPs: Learning Assigned readings:
RL in Robotics: A Survey
Solving Deep Memory POMDPs
Deep Recurrent Q-Learning for POMDPs
Assignment #8
Week 6: The problem of learning for long horizons
Tues 3/12/2019 Exploration, novelty search / curiosity, intrinsic motivation Assigned readings:
Novelty
#Exploration
Curiosity-Driven Exploration
Assignment #9
Thurs 3/14/2019 HRL Assigned readings:
Feudal RL
h-DQN
Data-Efficient HRL
Assignment #10
Week 7: The problem of very little data
Tues 3/19/2019 Model-based intelligence Assigned readings:
Building Machines That Learn and Think Like People (read Section 4, skim rest)
Deep Visual Foresight
World Models
Assignment #11
Thurs 3/21/2019 Meta-learning Assigned readings:
MAML
RL^2
Modular Meta-Learning
Assignment #12
Thurs 3/21/2019 Project Assigned readings:
Project handout
Week 8: The problem of nonstationarity
Tues 4/2/2019 Methodology Assigned readings:
Comparing Classifiers (section 1 only)
Machine Learning that Matters
Deep RL that Matters
Assignment #13
Thurs 4/4/2019 Multiagent RL Assigned readings:
Comprehensive survey of MARL
QMIX
Learning to Communicate with Deep MARL
Week 9: The problem of adversaries
Tues 4/9/2019 Self-play
Thurs 4/11/2019 Artificial life
Week 10: Concrete problems I
Tues 4/16/2019
Thurs 4/18/2019
Week 11: Concrete problems II
Tues 4/23/2019
Thurs 4/25/2019
Meet in 56-154
Week 12: Project milestone presentations
Tues 4/30/2019 Project milestone presentations
Thurs 5/2/2019 Project milestone presentations
Week 13: Work on project, no class meetings
Week 14: Final project presentations
Tues 5/14/2019 Final project presentations Final project due
Thurs 5/16/2019 Final project presentations